IPPA History


IPPA History

History Of The International Paediatric Pathology Association (IPPA)

Written by John L Emery, 1984 and up-dated by Marta C Cohen, 2018


1955 - The Paediatric Pathology Club formed with Agnes Magregor (the first Honorary Fellow of the International P.P.A.) as President, and J.L.Emery as Secretary/General. The first meeting taking place in Edinburgh.

Membership was world-wide; Foundation members included Jim Arey - Philadelphia, Bill Donohue - Toronto, David McKenzie - Cape Town, Doug Rye - Sydney, and Dorothy Anderson -New York.

 (The name of the Paediatric Pathology Club was soon changed to the Paediatric Pathology Society because the Scottish Tax Offices would not allow deductions for any 'Club' activity!)

1957 - At the International Paediatric Meeting in Copenhagen, Sidney Farber of Boston called a meeting proposing the formation of a Paediatric Pathology Association with the possibility of meeting alternatively in Europe and in the U.S.A.  It was felt that this was not practicable and that a separate group should be formed in North America.  From this time the P.P.S. ceased to add American members and the American Paediatric Pathology Club was formed.  Later P.P. groups were formed in Scandinavia, Australia, New Zealand and The Netherlands.

1972/74 - Daria Haust of London, Ontario, felt the need to strengthen international paediatric pathology and organised a joint meeting of paediatric pathologists in association with an International Academy of Pathology meeting in Hamburg, 1974.

In Hamburg there was general agreement to form an international group to take part in international pathology meetings in association with the International Academy of Pathology and other societies. Daria Haust organised several other sessions at the Congress in Washington.

1976 - At the International Academy of Pathology meeting in Washington, a general meeting of international paediatric pathologists took place and the International Paediatric Pathology Association was formed. A steering committee and officers were elected, and Daria Haust became Secretary/General and J.L. Emery, Chairman.

At a meeting of the provisional committee, the chairman, J.L. Emery, the Secretary/General, Daria Haust and Christian Nezelof were appointed as a Steering Committee to draw up a constitution for ratification at the next meeting of the I.A.P. in Jerusalem.

1978 - In Jerusalem, a constitution was presented to the members present and passed. The meeting was chaired by Prof J L Emery, and it took place on 13 September 1978 at the Jerusalem Hilton Hotel.
The first formal officers of the International Paediatric Pathology Association (IPPA.) were:

PresidentChristian Nezelof (Paris)
Vice Presidents David McKenzie (Cape Town)
Alan Williams (Melbourne)
and Ben Landing (California)
Secretary/GeneralDaria Haust (Canada)
Treasurer Jeremy Cox (Geneva)
Chairman of CouncilJohn L. Emery (U.K.)


(In the absence of Daria Haust, Molly Valdes-Dapena acted as Secretary at that meeting).

Eight council members were appointed.

Discussion took place with the IAP and it was agreed that the IPPA would nominate a member, after discussion with the IAP, to help organise paediatric sessions at each subsequent meeting of the IAP
The constitution of  International Paediatric Pathology Association adopted  in  Jerusalem was rectified  in  September  1978  and  amended  in  September  1984  at  Miami  Beach  and  again  in September 1990 in Buenos  Aires, in 1998 in Nice, in September 2006 in Montreal.


The history of the IPPA since 1978 has involved three major activities:

  1. The participation of many members at international pathology and paediatric meetings through the energetic activities of Daria Haust.
  2. The organisation of annual advanced courses of training in paediatric pathology centred in Europe, organised by the Chairman of Council and Jonne Huber.
  3. In 1983, the acceptance of the constitution of the IPPA by the three main constituent organisations, the European Paediatric Patholoy Society ( PPS), the American Society for Padiatric Pathology (SPP), and the Australian and New Zealand Paediatric pathology Group (ANZPPG), making all members of these societies automatic members of the IPPA


IPPA Life Fellows

Information supplied by Roc Kaschula 4/11/04 regarding his memory of IPPA Life Fellows.

1.  Edith Potter – presumed inaugural meeting Washington -
2.  Agnes McGregor – Jerusalem 1978 -
3.  J Edgar Morrison - Jerusalem 1978 -
4.  Ben Landing – presumed Paris 1980 -
5.  Gordon Vawter – presumed Paris 1980 -
6.  William Donohue - Hamburg 1983 -
7.  David McKenzie - Hamburg 1983 -
8.  James Arey - Miami 1984 -
9.  Alan Williams - Miami 1984 -
10.  Albert Claireaux - Miami 1984 -
11.  William Blanc – Vienna 1986 -
12.  John Emery - Vienna 1986 -
13.  Christian Nezelof - Vienna 1986 -
14.  George Fetterman - Vienna 1986 -
15.  M Daria Haust  - Dublin 1988 -
16.  Jonne Huber – Madrid 1992 -
17.  Enid Gilbert-Barness – Budapest 1996 -
18.  Roc Kaschula – Budapest 1996 –
19.  J Bruce Beckwith – Montreal 2006 -

Updated 5 March 2007 from minutes of meetings, but minutes of inaugural meeting Washington 1976 and Paris 1980 not available. Fellows 1-14 were documented in the minutes of the meeting held in Vienna in 1986.